Click to Home
Go To Search
Find UsFacebookTwitterBlog
In 1953, 41 road engineers and public works officials gathered in Frederick, Maryland to form an organization that would raise the technical standards of public service by exchanging ideas and discussing shared problems in county engineering. That organization is the County Engineers Association of Maryland (CEAM).

Under the aegis of the first president, Roger Willard, the Association grew, prospered, and expanded its horizons. Although much has changed since then, the membership now includes almost 600 county, municipal and consulting engineers, as well as public works personnel, contractors, and suppliers - the basic principles have not altered.

Today, CEAM provides a forum for new ideas and is an advocate for the infrastructure needs of the entire State. It is the collective voice of those who are responsible for the basic services of government and whose jobs affect the health and safety of every citizen. The Association promotes professional education and an adherence to the highest standards of engineering, construction, management and public policy. It maintains an active presence in the State capital, placing its public trust above all considerations, whether partisan or monetary.

But the Association is more than just another advocacy group with an agenda. The County Engineers seek to set an example to their professional community and they work to instill confidence in the public. They strive for permanence and stability, not only in the roads, bridges, and facilities they design and build, but in the professional tradition they have established throughout Maryland, today embodied by the women and men who are the legacy of the organization. With an eye to the future, CEAM fosters the free flow of technical information, promotes educational programs and training, and supports and extensive scholarship program that will help supply the next generation of engineers.

CEAM holds the election of officers and board of directors in the Spring, usually in April or May. The general membership meets twice a year. The Spring Annual Meeting location rotates within the various Maryland counties. The Fall Membership Meeting is always held in Ocean City in September. The Board meetings are held the fourth Thursday of each month at the MACo office in Annapolis.

Learn more about CEAM:

Affiliate Membership
Todd R. Mohn, P.E. 
Affiliate President
Director, Department of Public Works
Queen Anne's County
312 Safety Drive
P.O. Box 56
Centreville, MD 21617
Phone: 410.758.0925
Fax: 410.758.6606

Paul F. Kahl

Director, Department of Public Works
Allegany County
701 Kelly Road, Suite 300
Cumberland, MD 21502-2803
Phone: 301.777.5933, Ext. 211
Fax: 301.777.2001

Christopher J. Phipps

Director, Public Works
Anne Arundel County
2662 Riva Road
Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone: 410.222.7500
Fax: 410.222.4374

Rudolph S. Chow
Director, Dept. of Public Works
Baltimore City
200 North Holliday Street
Room 600
Baltimore, MD 21202
Phone: 410.396.3310
Fax: 410.539.6119

Steve Walsh
Director, Public Works
Baltimore County
111 W. Chesapeake Avenue
Towson, MD 21204
Phone: 410.887.3306
Fax: 410.887.3406

P. Rai Sharma
Director, Public Works
Calvert County
150 Main Street
Suite 202
Prince Frederick, MD 20678
Phone: 410.535.1600, Ext. 2215
Fax: 410.535.2129

Bryan North

Superintendent, Roads Division
Caroline County
520 Wilmuth Street
Denton, MD 21629
Phone: 410.479.0520
Fax: 410.479.0409

Jeffrey Castonguay
Director, Dept. of Public Works
Carroll County
225 N. Center Street
Westminster, MD 21157
Phone: 410.386.2248
Fax: 410.386.2407

W. Scott Flanigan, P.E.
Director, Department of Public Works
Cecil County
200 Chesapeake Boulevard,Suite 2400
Elkton, MD 21921
Phone: 410.996.5259
Fax: 410.996.8414

Steve Kaii-Ziegler

Director, Planning & Growth Management
Charles County
200 Baltimore Street
POB 2150
La Plata, MD 20646
Phone: 301.645.0595 Ext. 2595
Fax: 301.638.0807
Thomas Moore
Director, Dept. of Public Works
Dorchester County
5435 Handley Road
Cambridge, MD 21613
Phone: 410.228.2920

Robert Shen
Director, Dept. of Transportation & Highways
Frederick County
118 N. Market Street
Frederick, MD 21701
Phone: 301.600.1129
Fax: 301.600.1108

William Dwight Emory

Director, Engineering Department
Garrett County
313 E. Adler Street
Oakland, MD 21550
Phone: 301.334.7481
Fax: 301.334.7489

Joseph Siemek

Director, Public Works
Harford County
212 S. Bond Street
Bel Air, MD 21014
Phone: 410.638.3509
Fax: 410.803.0287

James M. Irvin

Director, Public Works
Howard County
3430 Courthouse Drive
Ellicott City, MD 21043
Phone: 410.313.4401
Fax: 410.313.3408

Mark Deluca
Deputy Director of Public Works/Environmental
Howard County
6751 Columbia Gateway Drive

Columbia, MD 21046

James M.Wright, Jr.

County Engineer
Kent County
709 Morgnec Road, Suite 101
Chestertown, MD 21620
Phone: 410.778.7407
Fax: 410.778.7424

Arthur Holmes Jr.
Director, Public Works & Transportation

Montgomery County
101 Monroe Street, 10th Floor
Rockville, MD 20850
Phone: 240.777.7170
Fax: 240.777.7179

Bruce E. Johnston
Chief, Division of Transportation Engineering
Montgomery County
100 Edison Park Drive, 4th Floor
Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Phone: 240.777.7236
Fax: 240.777.7209

Dr. Haitham Hijazi
, Ph.D., P.E.
Director, Department of Permitting, Inspections, and Enforcement
Prince George's County
9400 Peppercorn Place, 1st Floor, Suite 300
Largo, MD 20774
Phone: 301.636.2020
Fax: 301.883.5709

John Groeger
Interim Director, Public Works & Transportation
St. Mary's County
44825 St. Andrews Church Road
POB 508
California, MD 20619
Phone: 301.863.8400
Fax: 301.863.8810

John Redden, Jr., P.E.
Director, Department of Public Works
Somerset County
11916 Somerset Avenue, Room 101
Princess Anne, MD 21853
Phone: 410.621.9188
Fax: 410.651.0366

Raymond Clarke

County Engineer
Talbot County
215 Bay Street, Suite 6
Easton, MD 21601
Phone: 410.770.8170
Fax: 410.770.8176

Edwin Plank
Director, Highway Dept.
Washington County
601 Northern Avenue
Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone: 240.313.2727
Fax: 301.791.2897

Dallas Baker

Director, Dept. of Public Works
Wicomico County
28440 Owens Branch Road
Salisbury, MD 21801
Phone: 410.548.4872
Fax: 410.548.4877

John H.Tustin, P.E.

Director, Public Works
Worcester County
6113 Timmons Road
Snow Hill, MD 21863
Phone: 410.632.5623
Fax: 410.632.1753

Aetna 2013.jpg