The Maryland Correctional Administrators Association (MCAA) is an organization of correctional professionals founded in the 1960's. The membership is comprised of professionals working in adult correctional detention centers, adult community correctional facilities or any adult place of confinement as defined by Title 12, Subtitle 14 of the Code of Maryland Administrative Regulations. Membership also includes other allied local and state agencies.

Mission & Vision

The mission of the MCAA is to provide opportunities for the development of skills, knowledge, and initiatives, to maintain the integrity of corrections throughout the State of Maryland.

The MCAA vision is committed to providing continuous improvement in corrections for the purpose of promoting enhanced public safety in Maryland.

Association Goals

Goals are to enhance public safety by promoting the best interest of each jurisdiction through:

  • Improved operations;
  • Improved training and working conditions; and
  • Improved programs for those in custody, awaiting trial, serving sentences or otherwise confined.

To meet its mission and vision, administrators of state and local facilities in Maryland will:

  • Meet regularly to develop and advance the principles of modern corrections.
  • Establish unity and consensus among local and state correctional administrators on matters concerning their respective operations.
  • Propose, advocate and monitor relevant criminal justice legislation.
  • Promote and assist in the development of minimum standards for the operation of inmate programs and correctional facilities.
  • Collaborate with public and private policy-making bodies to facilitate the effectiveness of public safety.
  • Promote and encourage the development of staff training, resources and training programs. * Facilitate the coordination of operational activities between agencies, the collection, and analysis of relevant data and sponsor research.
  • Encourage and promote the development, implementation, and refinement of effective community release, alternatives to incarceration and reintegration programs.
  • Coordinate technical assistance between correctional agencies for the development of appropriate and adequate correctional resources.


Membership is open to individuals working in corrections and related fields in Maryland. There are three (3) standard types of membership:

Regular - Any correctional administrator and his/her designated staff members. Each local jurisdiction may have up to six voting members. State correctional institutions and facilities may hold membership and are entitled to vote.

Associate  - Any person sponsored or recommended by a Regular Member who will uphold the goals and objectives of the organization. Associate members do not vote.

Business  - Any company producing products designed for and intended to promote the principles of modern corrections and sponsored by or recommended by any Regular member. Business members do not have voting rights.


Budget & Finance, By-laws (ad hoc), conference/program, correctional employee benefits (ad hoc), information, resource and technology, legal issues (ad hoc), legislative, mental health and substance abuse, nominating/election, standards, state & local policy board, training, research and professional development.

Foundation & Scholarships

The MCAA Scholarship Foundation was established by the Association in 2001.

Over the past three years, more than $40,000 in college and professional development scholarships were awarded to deserving corrections professionals and their dependents in Maryland. Funds for scholarships are derived from vendor support and special events such as the annual golf tournament.

Affiliate Membership

Mary Ann Thompson

Affiliate President 
St. Mary's County
41880 Baldridge Street
Leonardtown, MD 20650
Phone: 301.475.4200 x2241
Fax: 301.475.4010
Email Mary Ann Thompson

Daniel Lasher

Assistant Administrator, Detention Center
Allegany County
14300 McMullen Highway
Cumberland, MD 21502
Phone: 301.729.8540
Fax: 301.729.2496
Email Daniel Lasher

Christopher Klein

Superintendent, Department of Detention Facilities
Anne Arundel County
131 Jennifer Road
Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone: 410.222.7374
Fax: 410.222.7208
Email Christopher Klein

Betty Johnson

Warden, Department of Corrections
Baltimore City
401 East Eager Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
Phone: 410.209.4001
Fax: 410.209.4260

Gail Watts

Director, Department of Corrections
Baltimore County
720 Bosley Avenue
Towson, MD 21204
Phone: 410.512.3400
Fax: 410.512.3406
Email Gail Watts

Thomas Reece 

Detention Center Administrator
Calvert County
Barstow, MD 20678
Phone: 410.535.8902
Fax: 410.535.4537
Email Thomas Reece

Charles Scott 

Warden, Detention Center
Caroline County
101 Gay Street
Denton, MD 21629
Phone: 410.479.2517
Fax: 410.479.4128
Email Charles Scott

Col. Dennis Strine

Warden, Detention Center
Carroll County
100 North Court Street
Westminster, MD 21157
Phone: 410.361.2361
Email Dennis Strine

Barry Janney

Director, Detention Center
Cecil County
500 Landing Lane
Elkton, MD 21921
Phone: 410.996.5842
Fax: 410.996.5525
Email Barry Janney

Brandon Foster

Director, Detention Center
Charles County
6905 Crain Highway
POB 1690
La Plata, MD 20646
Phone: 301.934.4396
Email Brandon Foster

Kenneth Rodgers

Director of Corrections
Dorchester County
829 Fieldcrest Road
Cambridge, MD 21613
Phone: 410.228.8101
Fax: 410.221.0424
Email Kenneth Rodgers

Lt. Col. William DeLauter

Chief, Corrections Bureau
Frederick County
7300 Marcies Choice Lane
Frederick, MD 21704
Phone: 301.600.2555
Fax: 301.600.3066
Email William DeLauter

Mike Bittenger

Detention Center Administrator
Garrett County
311 East Alder Street
Oakland, MD 21550
Phone: 301.334.5055
Fax: 301.334.1931
Email Mike Bittenger

Daniel Galbraith

Harford County
1030 North Rock Spring Avenue
Bel Air, MD 21014
Phone: 410.638.3140
Fax: 410.638.4896
Email Daniel Galbraith

Jama Acuff

Director, Department of Corrections
Howard County
7301 Waterloo Road
Jessup, MD 20794
Phone: 410.313.5200
Fax: 410.313.5226
Email Jama Acuff

Herbert Dennis

Warden, Detention Center
Kent County
104 Vickers Drive, Unit A
Chestertown, MD 21620
Phone: 410.778.6025
Fax: 410.778.7402
Email Herbert Dennis

Angela Talley

Director, Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation
Montgomery County
22880 Whelan Lane
Boyds, MD 20841
Phone: 240.777.9976
Fax: 240.777.9966
Email Angela Talley

Corenne Labbé

Director, Department of Corrections
Prince George's County
13400 Dille Drive
Upper Marlboro, MD 20772
Phone: 301.952.7164
Fax: 301.952.7285
Email Corinne Labbé

LaMonte (Pope) Cooke 

Director, Department of Corrections
Queen Anne's County
500 Little Hut Drive
Centreville, MD 21617
Phone: 410.758.3817
Fax: 410.758.2485
Email Pope Cooke

Keith Muir

Somerset County
30474 Revells Neck Road
Westover, MD 21871
Phone: 410.651.9223
Fax: 410.651.9361
Email Keith Muir

Terry Kokolis 

Director, Department of Corrections
Talbot County
115 West Dover Street
Easton, MD 21601
Phone: 410.770.8120
Fax: 410.770.8140
Email Terry Kokolis

Maj. Craig Rowe

Warden, Detention Center
Washington County
500 Western Maryland Parkway
Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone: 240.313.2121
Fax: 240.313.2152
Email Craig Rowe

Ruth Colbourne 

Director, Department of Corrections
Wicomico County
411 Naylor Mill Road
Salisbury, MD 21801
Phone: 410.548.4850
Fax: 410.548.4984
Email Ruth Colbourne

Fulton Holland

Warden, County Jail
Worcester County
5022 Joyner Road
POB 189
Snow Hill, MD 21863
Phone: 410.632.1300
Fax: 410.632.3002
Email Fulton Holland